Golden Rule Insurance 2015 Proposed Rate Increase

The Iowa Insurance Division has received a request from Golden Rule Insurance to increase their base rates for the 2015 plan year. A public rate increase hearing has been scheduled before the Commissioner of Insurance on December 6, 2014 at 10:00 am at the locations below. Affected Golden Rule Insurance policyholders and members of the public may submit comments on the proposed rate increase below or contact the Consumer Advocate for insurance.

The Golden Rule Insurance 2015 Public Rate Increase Hearing Locations:

Mercy College of Health Sciences, Sullivan Center, Room SC-210, 928 6th Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50309 (Main Location)

Burlington Public Library, 210 Court Street, Iowa 52601

Iowa Central Community College, Liberal Arts Building, Room 204, One Triton Circle, Fort Dodge, IA 50501

Iowa Western Community College, Looft Hall, Room 024, 2700 College Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51502

Kirkwood Community College, Linn Hall, Room 2184, 6301 Kirkwood Blvd SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52406

North Iowa Area Community College, Business Incubator Building, Room 128, 500 College Drive, Mason City, IA 50401

Spencer Public Library, 21 East 3rd Street, Spencer, IA 51301

Related Documents:

Rate Hearing Transcript:

2015 Gold Rule Public Hearing Transcript

Rate Hearing Agenda-

2015 Golden Rule Rate Increase Hearing Agenda

Public Comment and Testimony Report

2015 Golden Rule Public Testimony and Comments Report

Rate Filing Application Documents

3 – G25 NGF Rate Summary Worksheet

4 – IA Gen 25 Consumer Disclosure Part II

5 – IA Gen 25 State Act Memo

6 – Exhibit 1 25-values

10 – 513C Certification-signed JMS

Carrier Experience Assister Template – GRI G25

IA G25 Rate Manual

Ruling on 2015 Golden Rule Rate Filing

3 Responses to “Golden Rule Insurance 2015 Proposed Rate Increase”

  1. iainsuranceca Says:

    Hi my name is Dennis Warner.

    In reference to the letter I received from Golden Rule Insurance Company that they are going to ask for a 19% rise in insurance cost. The last was a 15 or 16% raise. The last five years are double the policy costs. Its out of control. Nobody makes that much extra money a year that their wages go up 19%.

    I would ask you to not give them the increase they are asking for.

  2. iainsuranceca Says:

    I joined Golden Rule about 5 years ago. When I first joined up I was paying $175 a month, now I’m paying $320. I don’t remember the exact rate increase, I saw that it was going to be an extra $60-$80 per month. That will cost more than any of my student loan payments. When I called Golden Rule the lady told me that I had one of the cheaper plans with Golden Rule. That blows my mind that I have. I am a lawyer. I should not have to get a second job to pay for my health insurance. This is more expensive then anyone dreamed of every or in any world. People should not have to be burdened with this. This all applies to the amount I have to pay now, not even with the rate increase. They are bringing the cost of insurance to the point that normal people cannot pay these rates. Its not me and I’m’ in one of the more elite groups. I don’t’ know how they think this is reasonable or appropriate. But, I can’t afford this. I already have to work two jobs and I can’t pay this. Its not reasonable. To say its unreasonable does not encompass this. This is nothing about this that is fair. I am 32 years old and healthy and I can’t even imagine for people who are not healthy. I don’t know where they believe the monthly is coming from because I don’t have it and I don’t know who does. That’s about it.

  3. iainsuranceca Says:

    I am distressed to see that our insurance company is requesting such a substantial increase in their base premium rate, according to their letter dated October 22 to policy holders. Our insurance rates have increased already substantially over the past two years to cause use to have a ridiculous deductible amount just to keep our premiums below our mortgage amount, while we have not had claims to justify the increases. We are self-employed, paying our own insurance costs and are definitely NOT seeing affordable health benefits! I strongly urge the commissioner to deny this outrageous increase.

    Jennifer Horton
    Grundy Center, Iowa

Leave a Reply

