2018 Proposed Gold Rule Rate Increase

Golden Rule Insurance Company (a member of UnitedHealthCare) has requested a 2018 health insurance rate increase averaging 27%.  The proposed rate increase could affect up to 2,344 and would go into effect on January 1, 2018.  The public is welcome to submit comments on the proposed rate increase and may attend the public hearing scheduled on the proposed rate increase at 10 am, on August 26, 2017, in Des Moines or another remote teleconferencing location (locations are provided below).

Hearing Locations

8-26-17 Hearing Locations

Golden Rule Filed Actuarial Memorandum

Actuarial Memorandum – GRIC Gens 1-27

2 Responses to “2018 Proposed Gold Rule Rate Increase”

  1. Dan Says:

    Good afternoon,

    I received a letter today from Golden Rule, United Healthcare, informing myself that rates are going to increase ANOTHER 27% in January, 2018.

    This, after just having my rates increased 7% because of entering a different age bracket.

    Over the last 8 years my premiums have increased over 300%, before taking into account the new 27% increase.

    Enough is enough! The affordable care act was/is a disaster, which has caused millions, like myself, to make decisions on whether to continue paying the extortion imposed by Golden Rule, United Healthcare, or whether to eat.

    Each day I hear from more friends and neighbors that they have dropped coverage completely due to increased prices. They would rather deal with Doctors, hospitals, etc.. themselves than continue paying blood money to their insurance companies.

    ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! Say NO to increased rates. Say NO to insurance companies greed. Iowans & Americans can no longer afford the “affordable care act”.

  2. Greg Duncan Says:

    Dear Insurance Commissioner:

    I am writing in regard to the proposed 27% rate increase I received notice from Golden Rule, my health insurance company. I am self employed so my options for individual coverage for me and my family are limited. These limited insurance options are either too expensive or deny over pre existing conditions. My rate has gone up to $1002 a month with $5000 deductible as a health savings account.

    I feel any additional increase would be difficult for me to keep insurance and we know how the government Affordable healthcare option is imploding.

    I ask that you do not approve this rate increase. Also if you have any suggestions on insurance coverage for me to apply for would be appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Greg Duncan/jl
    5119 Davis Street
    Bettendorf, IA 52722

Leave a Reply

